Dmitry Shostakovich – Symphony No. 14 – Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Vasily Petrenko (2013) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Dmitry Shostakovich – Symphony No. 14 – Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Vasily Petrenko (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 00:49:19 minutes | 795 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz |  Label: Naxos Rights
Recorded at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, England, on 4th and 5th May, 2013

At its première in June 1969 Shostakovich described his Symphony No. 14, in effect a symphonic song cycle, ‘a fight for the liberation of humanity…a great protest against death, a reminder to live one’s life honestly, decently, nobly…’ Originally intending to write an oratorio, Shostakovich set eleven poems on the theme of mortality, and in particular early or unjust death, for two solo singers accompanied by strings and percussion. This is the penultimate release in Vasily Petrenko’s internationally acclaimed symphonic cycle.

This is a sensational performance, the first that truly vies with the classic Rostropovich/Vishnevskaya/Reshetin for supremacy. Vasily Petrenko enjoys the distinct advantage of two absolutely fabulous young soloists.

…Petrenko is more than gripping. …Petrenko captures every mood, from the feverish waltz of Malagueña, to the urgent yearning of O Delvig, Delvig! In Petrenko’s hands, we become supremely conscious of how Shostakovich achieves moments of exquisite beauty using the simplest of means—a wandering string line in De profundis or The Death of the Poet—or passages of sardonic humor with the militant rhythm of the tom-toms in On Watch. –David Hurwitz, ClassicsToday

…with bold sound and detailed booklet-notes this would be a thrilling investment at any price. Let’s not forget the singers’ fresh-sounding contribution. Alexander Vinogradov…is one of those Russian basses whose rich, sepulchral tones, easily produced, belie a boyish frame. Gal James…throws herself into the proceedings with striking commitment. Strongly recommended. –David Gutman, Gramophone

Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Symphony No. 14, Op. 135
1. I. De profundis: Adagio 00:04:51
2. II. Malaguena: Allegretto – 00:02:46
3. III. Lorelei: Allegro molto – 00:08:37
4. IV. The Suicide: Adagio 00:06:51
5. V. On Watch: Allegretto – 00:03:04
6. VI. Madam, look!: Allegretto – 00:02:02
7. VII. In the Sante Prison: Adagio 00:09:55
8. VIII. The Zaporozhian Cossacks’ Reply to the Sultan of Constantinople: Allegro – 00:01:51
9. IX. O Delvig, Delvig!: Andante 00:04:04
10. X. The Death of the Poet: Largo – 00:04:32
11. XI. Conclusion: Moderato 00:01:22

Gal James, soprano
Alexander Vinogradov, bass
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko, conductor