Dmitry Masleev – Piano (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Dmitry Masleev – Piano (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 58:06 minutes | 462 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front cover | © Melodiya

Melodiya presents a disc recorded by young Russian pianist Dmitry Masleev. The musicians name became widely known after his convincing victory at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2015 when he received the first prize and a special prize for his performance of a Mozart concerto. Dmitry Masleev was born in Ulan-Ude and graduated from the Moscow Conservatory where he studied under Professor Mikhail Petukhov. He was awarded his first prize when he was 13 years old. Now a soloist of the Moscow Philharmonic Society, he can boast a vast repertoire performing with some of the best Russian and foreign orchestras to rave reviews from reputable music critics. In early 2017, Dmitry debuted at Carnegie Hall, the Paris Philharmonie and the Konzerthaus Berlin. This disc is focused on Russian music of the 20th century. Shostakovichs Piano Concerto No. 2 dedicated to the composers son Maxim was recorded by Dmitry Masleev as part of the project comprising Shostakovich’s complete concertos recorded by the Tatarstan State Orchestra and conductor Alexander Sladkovsky. The pianist also performs Prokofievs Piano Sonata No. 2, a virtuosic and ‘rebellious’ piece written when the composer was young (his Piano Concerto No. 3 was one of the key numbers of the pianists competition programme). On the face of it, Domenico Scarlattis piano sonata next to Prokofievs piece may seem odd, but the transparent clarity of the Italian composers early classicism seamlessly blends with the nature of the selected works. The programme comes with an encore Shostakovichs Elegy from Ballet Suite No. 3 arranged by Dmitry Masleev.

“The slow movement’s Rachmaninov pastiche is played very simply, very straight, and the finale’s 7/8 rhythms pushed to the limit. There’s a charming Shostakovich bonus item, too. All good, and very well recorded.” (The Arts Desk)

01. Keyboard Sonata in B Minor, K. 27
02. Keyboard Sonata in F Minor, K. 466
03. Keyboard Sonata in D Minor, K. 1
04. Keyboard Sonata in D Minor, K. 141
05. Keyboard Sonata in D Minor, K. 32
06. Piano Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 14: I. Allegro ma non troppo
07. Piano Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 14: II. Scherzo-Allegro marcato
08. Piano Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 14: III. Andante
09. Piano Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 14: IV. Vivace
10. Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Major, Op. 102: I. Allegro
11. Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Major, Op. 102: II. Andante
12. Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Major, Op. 102: III. Allegro
13. Ballet Suite No. 3: Elegy (Arr. Dmitry Masleev) (Bonus Track)

Prokofiev, Sergei Sergeievitch (1891-1953)
Scarlatti, Domenico (1685-1757)
Shostakovich, Dmitri (1906-75)

Dmitry Masleev, piano
Tatarstan National Symphony Orchestra
Alexander Sladkovsky, conductor