Die Kolophonistinnen – Heldinnenleben (2020) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Die Kolophonistinnen – Heldinnenleben (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 48:22 minutes | 896 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Gramola Records

Ever since the film during the intermission of the 2017 Vienna Philharmonic’s New Year’s Concert, the “Kolophonistinnen” cello quartet has made a striking impression on a broad public. With their commitment and their enthusiasm, performances by the four young women – Hannah Amann, Marlene Förstel, Theresa Laun and Elisabeth Herrmann – take listeners’ hearts by storm. For their debut album, the “Heldinnen” (“heroines,” an affectionate and appreciative appellation by their teacher) have compiled an exciting program rich in contrast, in keeping with their characters, full of Viennese esprit and Slavic soul, world-famous melodies from blockbuster movies, as well as fascinating new pieces by top Austrian musicians Florian Bramböck and Matthias Bartolomey.

The Vienna cello quartet known as Die Kolophonistinnen consists of the four young musicians Hannah Amann, Marlene Förstel, Elisabeth Herrmann and Theresa Laun. The name of the ensemble refers to colophony or rosin, an amber-coloured resin obtained from pines that creates the static friction between the bow and the strings and is what makes the wonderful sound of the cellos possible in the first place.


Johann Strauss II (1825 – 1899):

1 Vienna Blood, Op. 354 (Arr. L. Roczek for Cello Quartet) [Colophonistic Remix]

Johann Strauss I (1804 – 1849):

2 Radetzky March, Op. 228 (Arr. L. Roczek for Cello Quartet)

Florian Bramböck (b. 1959):

3 Cellinnen und Außen

Matthias Bartolomey (b. 1985):

4 Preikestolen

Alexandre Tansman (1897 – 1986): 2 Movements for Cello Quartet, Op. 89:

5 2 Movements for Cello Quartet, Op. 89: No. 1, Adagio cantabile
6 2 Movements for Cello Quartet, Op. 89: No. 2, Allegro molto risoluto

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 – 1975):

7 Suite for Variety Orchestra, Op. 50b: VII. Waltz No. 2 (Arr. H. Amann for Cello Quartet)

Lalo Schifrin (b. 1932):

8 Theme (From “Mission Impossible”) [Arr. J. Barralet for Cello Quartet]

Carlos Gardel (1890 – 1935):

9 Por una cabeza (Arr. J. Barralet for Cello Quartet)0

Leonhard Roczek (b. 1983):

10 Heldinnenleben (After R. Strauss’ Op. 40, TrV 190)