David Lively – I Got Rhythm (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

David Lively – I Got Rhythm (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:12:55 minutes | 1,08 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © La Musica

The linchpin of this album is indeed the dozen beautiful Songs from Gerswhin’sSongbook, adapted by the composer himself for solo piano for some of his countless songs. But far from being a blend of jazz melodies played away on a piano, this extraordinary collection oscillates between jazzy languages – true – and Rachmaninoff, Debussy, Ravel, sometimes ragtime, with a pianistic writing of flawless flair, truly impeccable writing, and a real joy for both the pianist and the listener. Around this linchpin, David Lively has constructed a magnificent array of American works from Ives to Joplin for the oldest, to William Bolcom, Aaron Copland, Samuel Barber and even Eliott Carter for the most recent − and probably the most avant-garde of all, in fact it is the time the album forays into avant-garde material, may the anti-avant-garde be reassured! The range from Ives – him too a pioneer before his time, whose 1919 South Paw Pitching is an extraordinary moment of modernity and farce − to Carter is immense, but the language of American music indeed comes through, throughout the album. Just aslively as the pianist’s name suggests!

01. Maple Leaf Rag
02. Souvenir de Porto Rico, Marche des Gibaros, Op. 31
03. The Banjo, American Sketch, Op. 15
04. Etude No. 21: Some Southpaw Pitching
05. Songbook: IV. Fascinating Rhythm
06. Songbook: IX. My One and Only
07. Songbook: II. Do-Do-Do
08. Songbook: XVII. That Certain Feeling
09. Songbook: XV. Sweet and Low Down
10. Songbook: XI. Oh, Lady Be Good!
11. Songbook: III. Do It Again
12. Songbook: XIV. Swanee
13. Songbook: XVIII. Who Cares?
14. Songbook: VI. I’ll Build a Staircase to Paradise
15. Songbook: VIII. The Man I Love
16. Songbook: V. I Got Rhythm
17. Four Blues: I. Freely poetic
18. Four Blues: II. Soft and languid
19. Four Blues: III. Muted and sensuous
20. Four Blues: IV. With bounce
21. Excursions, Op. 20: I. Un poco allegro
22. Excursions, Op. 20: II. In slow blues tempo
23. Excursions, Op. 20: III. Allegretto
24. Excursions, Op. 20: IV. Allegro molto
25. Five Chromatic Dances: IV. Hoedown
26. Two Thoughts About the Piano: I. Intermittences
27. Two Thoughts About the Piano: II. Caténaires
28. The Garden of Eden: The Serpent’s Kiss-Rag Fantasy (Excerpts)

Albright, William (1944-1998)
Barber, Samuel (1910-81)
Bolcom, William (b.1938)
Carter, Elliott (1908-2012)
Copland, Aaron (1900-90)
Gershwin, George (1898-1937)
Gottschalk, Louis Moreau (1829-69)
Ives, Charles (1874-1954)
Joplin, Scott (1867-1917)

David Lively, piano