Dave Alvin and Jimmie Dale Gilmore – Downey to Lubbock (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Dave Alvin and Jimmie Dale Gilmore – Downey to Lubbock (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 52:43 minutes | 599 MB | Genre: Americana
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Yep Roc Records

DOWNEY TO LUBBOCK was born by immaculate inspiration from live shows Grammy winner Dave Alvin and Grammy nominee Jimmie Dale Gilmore performed together in 2017. Just the two of them were swapping songs and cutting up, each with a guitar and a heart full of soul, musicians who’ve been on the road their entire adult lives. The result is an album of blues, rock and folk inspired tunes that both of their fans will enjoy. The album contains 12 songs – 10 covers and two originals – and is destined to be a classic Americana album from two Americana legends.

No need to introduce these two big names of Americana anymore. Californian Dave Alvin, former member of the Blasters, and Texan Jimmie Dale Gilmore, former member of the Flatlanders, join forces on Downey To Lubbock released with Yep Roc. With their now graying hair, the two troubadours have chosen the names of the cities at the origin of their first steps on the music scene. Who would have thought that the Californian beaches would mingle so well with the Texan dry stretches of land? Despite their differences, Alvin and Gilmore managed to find some common ground and an indisputable complicity that can be felt throughout the disc. Dave Alvin has composed the eponymous title Downey To Lubbock, in which he introduces his partner and they describe their years on the road. The ups and downs, the attachment to their country, their fuel-soaked dreams, without forgetting the music. An electric guitar solo, verses lightened by harmonica notes from which surges an electrifying blues: the tone is set. Mainly composed of covers, Alvin and Gilmore didn’t neglect their selection. From Neil Young’s ballad Silverlake to William Shade’s banjo, Lightning Hopkins, Woody Guthrie and folk songs, they have set the bar very high. The whole is rich in sounds and Gilmore’s inimitable trembling voice perfectly contrasts Alvin’s much warmer one. Two worlds fuse and they amuse themselves by crossing the time periods, without forgetting their friends. For their cover of Tex-Mex title The Gardens composed by Chris Gaffney, the Californian pays homage to the man who has left us too soon. But it’s probably on the duo Billy The Kid And Geronimo that they are the most striking. Through a fiction staging the meeting of two violent American fugitives, Alvin and Gilmore trade verses at the pace of a ballad full of sympathy. From these old hands come undeniable strength, a moving and sincere album inspiring respect for American music.  – Clara Bismuth

1. Downey to Lubbock 05:49
2. Silverlake 05:01
3. Stealin’ Stealin’ 02:58
4. July, You’re a Woman 03:53
5. Buddy Brown’s Blues 03:50
6. The Gardens 03:56
7. Get Together 03:59
8. K.C. Moan 05:12
9. Lawdy Miss Clawdy 02:38
10. Billy the Kid and Geronimo 04:45
11. Deportee – Plane Wreck at Los Gatos 04:52
12. Walk On 05:50