Claus Ogerman and His Orchestra – A Salute to Sam Cooke (1966/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Claus Ogerman and His Orchestra – A Salute to Sam Cooke (1966/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 29:44 minutes | 1,1 GB | Genre: Jazz, Easy Listening
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © RCA Records

This prolific arranger and orchestrator moved from Europe to the United States in 1959 and began an association with the Verve label, where his arrangements were featured on albums by Frank Sinatra and Antonio Carlos Jobim (1967’s Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim — the first of two collaborative albums by the pair), Astrud Gilberto, Bill Evans, Wes Montgomery, Stan Getz, Cal Tjader, and other leading artists. Having worked with producer Creed Taylor on numerous Verve albums during the ’60s, Ogerman continued his partnership with Taylor following the establishment of the A&M-affiliated CTI label, arranging albums including Jobim’s classic Wave, released in 1967 as only the second album under the CTI imprint.
Over the following decades and into the 21st century, Ogerman has served as arranger, orchestrator, and/or conductor on albums by the likes of George Benson, Michael Brecker, Danilo Perez, and Diana Krall, winning a Grammy for arranging the title track of Krall’s 2009 bossa-themed Quiet Nights. (A repeated Grammy nominee, Ogerman had previous won the award for arranging guitarist Benson’s “Soulful Strut” from 1979’s Livin’ Inside Your Love.) Ogerman is also noted for his arrangements backing pop artists, his original scores for primarily German films of the ’50s and ’60s, and his work as a classical composer — or, in the case of 1982’s Cityscape co-billed to saxophonist Brecker, as composer, arranger, and conductor of a successful classical-jazz hybrid concerto. –Artist Biography by Dave Lynch

1 Shake 02:20
2 Little Red Rooster 02:53
3 Good Times 02:16
4 Send Me Some Lovin’ 02:26
5 Twistin’ the Night Away 02:17
6 Cupid 02:33
7 Somebody Have Mercy 02:27
8 Chain Gang 02:54
9 Another Saturday Night 02:19
10 Frankie and Johnny 02:33
11 Having a Party 02:27
12 He’s a Cousin of Mine 02:19

Claus Ogerman (arranger, conductor) and His Orchestra