Classical Opera, Ian Page – Mozart: Apollo et Hyacinthus (2012) [Hyperion FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Apollo et Hyacinthus – Classical Opera, Ian Page (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:16:30 minutes | 1,38 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © LINN Records
Recorded: August 2011, Blackheath Concert Halls, London, United Kingdom

Classical Opera has mounted two staged productions of Mozart’s Apollo et Hyacinthus (1998 and 2006), with both receiving wide critical acclaim, The Independent stating: ‘Classical Opera’s polished debut in Apollo et Hyacinthus proved a pearl beyond price. Here was a work of staggering beauty riddled with sweet noises like Caliban’s enchanted isle.’

This recording has been eagerly awaited since its 2007 debut CD, ‘The A-Z of Mozart Opera’ was released, described by David Vickers in Gramophone as ‘glorious … fresh, diverse, insightful and illuminating’. The company features a mix of seasoned and young performers including Sophie Bevan and Lawrence Zazzo in the title roles.

‘And what music! While not competing in any way with the Da Ponte operas of course, I have heard many classical period pieces by mature composers that can’t top the sheer invention found here. This three-part plus overture (intrada) work sparkles from beginning to end, and we marvel at the skill of the young composer. Sure there is a little too much recitative, but even that resonates with a skill and dramatic flavor that a man twice the age—make that three times—would be proud to have accomplished. This production is simply wonderful and leaps to the top of a very small list. The Hegel recording on the Philips Mozart Edition years ago was fine but can’t compete with this. Notable are the principals, Klara Ek as Melia and counter-tenor Lawrence Zasso as Apollo, who carry the weight of the production, but also menacing is the counter-tenor of Christopher Ainslie who takes the role of Zephyrus. The orchestra is first rate’ –Audiophile Audition


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Apollo et Hyacinthus, K.38
1. Intrada 2:41
2. Recitativo: Amice! iam parata sunt omnia (Hyacinthus, Zephyrus, Oebalus, Melia) 2:53
3. No. 1, Chorus: Numen o Latonium (Chorus, Oebalus) 4:26
4. Recitativo: Heu me! periimus! (Melia, Oebalus, Hyacinthus, Zephyrus) 1:24
5. No. 2, Aria: Saepe terrent Numina (Hyacinthus) 7:48
6. Recitativo: Ah Nate! vera loqueris (Oebalus, Apollo, Hyacinthus, Melia, Zephyrus) 3:04
7. No. 3, Aria: Iam pastor Apollo (Apollo) 3:46
8. Recitativo: Amare numquid Filia (Oebalus, Melia) 1:49
9. No. 4, Aria: Laetari, iocari (Melia) 6:39
10. Recitativo: Rex! de salute Filii (Zephyrus, Oebalus, Melia) 5:22
11. No. 5, Aria: En! duos conspicis (Zephyrus) 3:08
12. Recitativo: Heu! Numen! ecce! (Zephyrus, Melia, Apollo) 2:05
13. No. 6, Duetto: Discede crudelis! (Melia, Apollo) 6:22
14. Recitativo accompagnato: Non est – Quis ergo Nate! (Hyacinthus, Oebalus) 2:35
15. No. 7, Aria: Ut navis in aequore luxuriante (Oebalus) 6:16
16. Recitativo: Quocumque me converto (Melia, Oebalus) 2:56
17. No. 8, Duetto: Natus cadit, atque Deus (Oebalus, Melia) 5:42
18. Recitativo: Rex! me redire cogit (Apollo, Oebalus, Melia) 4:49
19. No. 9, Terzetto: Tandem post turbida fulmina (Apollo, Melia, Oebalus) 2:45