Chet Atkins – Solo Flights (1968/2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Chet Atkins – Solo Flights (1968/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 31:14 minutes | 670 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © RLG – Legacy

Solo Flights is the thirty-sixth studio album by Chet Atkins. Side one of this album features Atkins’ experiment with the “Octabass Guitar,” where he replaced the two low strings (the E and A strings) with heavier strings in order to drop an octave and create a fuller sound with bass.

“Though incredibly busy running RCA Victor’s Nashville operation, Chet Atkins still found some time and enterprise to perform some musical experiments on his own. It was a simple idea, really, replacing the two lower strings on his electric guitar with the E and A strings from an electric bass, thus lowering the tone by an octave and creating a fuller balance. With this idea, Atkins’ disarmingly easygoing fingerpicking facility threatened to put every bass player in Nashville out of business, but the so-called “Octabass Guitar” evidently wasn’t pursued much further. Indeed, only on side one of this LP do listeners hear the new instrument on a series of mostly jazz and pop standards – including the newly minted Joe Zawinul soul/jazz vehicle “Mercy, Mercy, Mercy.” The bass strings give the tracks a different sound, but since one man is playing two parts in the same unified manner style, listeners will not really perceive the illusion of a genuine guitar/bass duet. The side also contains a polished remake of “Chet’s Tune,” the song on which just about every artist on RCA Victor’s Nashville roster had pitched in on to surprise their label boss earlier that year. Side two is simplicity itself; delicate, lovingly caressed solo acoustic guitar tracks with only an occasional celesta or hi-hat cymbal set in the background. Give “Gonna Get Along Without You Now” the most points for likeability on this low-key side. All told, this is one of Atkins’ more pleasing collections from that era.” (Richard S. Ginell, AMG)

1. Drive In 02:17
2. Three Little Words 02:38
3. Autumn Leaves 03:26
4. Chet’s Tune 02:08
5. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy 02:12
6. Cheek to Cheek 03:10
7. Cindy, Oh Cindy 02:25
8. When You Wish Upon a Star 02:46
9. Music to Watch Girls By 02:31
10. Choro Da Saudade 02:37
11. Gonna Get Along Without You Now 02:05
12. Georgy Girl 02:45

Digitally remastered