Carolina Chocolate Drops – Leaving Eden (2012/2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Carolina Chocolate Drops – Leaving Eden (2012/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 45:03 minutes | 900 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Nonesuch

Leaving Eden, Carolina Chocolate Drop’s second full-length Nonesuch disc, was produced by Nashville stalwart Buddy Miller, the go-to guy for artists ranging from Solomon Burke to Robert Plant to Emmylou Harris. On this 15-song collection, recorded live in the studio with all the players in a single room, the Carolina Chocolate Drops illustrate their own adaptability to grow and change. Following the amicable departure of founding member Justin Robinson, band mates Rhiannon Giddens and Dom Flemons recruited three exceptional new players for the recording and expanded their repertoire to incorporate more overt blues and jazz elements and straight-up folk balladry alongside brilliantly rendered string-band tunes. Robinson’s replacement is Hubby Jenkins, a Brooklyn-bred guitarist, banjo player, and singer who had previously busked his way around the country. Joining the revamped trio in Miller’s studio were beat-boxer Adam Matta, introduced to them by the NYC gypsy punk band Luminescent Orchestrii, with whom CCD released a live EP on Nonesuch last year, and New Orleans-based cellist Leyla McCalla.


01. Riro’s House
02. Kerr’s Negro Jig
03. Ruby, Are You Mad at Your Man?
04. Boodle-De-Bum-Bum
05. Country Girl
06. Run Mountain
07. Leaving Eden
08. Read ’em John
09. Mahalla
10. West End Blues
11. Po’ Black Sheep
12. I Truly Understand That You Love Another Man
13. No Man’s Mama
14. Briggs’ Corn Shucking Jig / Camptown Hornpipe
15. Pretty Bird