Carl Orff – Carmina Burana – London Philharmonic Choir & Orchestra, Hans Graf (2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Carl Orff – Carmina Burana – London Philharmonic Choir & Orchestra, Hans Graf (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:00:34 minutes | 552 MB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet
Recorded live at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall, London, on 6 April 2013

Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana is an infectious and brilliantly orchestrated work, combining gloriously bawdy vulgarity and moments of touching beauty. The inspiration for the work struck Orff in 1935 when he encountered a vivid set of medieval poems charting the outlandish pursuits of hedonistic students and monks. Written purely for entertainment in vernacular Latin, medieval French and German, the satirical texts poked fun at what they saw as a hypocritical church, before indulging in erotic fantasy and pondering ideas of fate and fortune.

„This is a superb issue; it captures afresh the sheer exuberance and colour of this over-performed work … it’s a recording of a live concert, and it made me feel I so wish I d been there; what greater praise can there be?“ –International MusicWeb

„There are flashier, more sumptuous Carminas on the market, but this one nonetheless scores impressively on musical values, and pure listening enjoyment.“ –BBC Music Magazine

Carl Orff (1895-1982)
Carmina Burana
1. O Fortuna 02:40
2. Fortune plango vulnera 02:47
I. Primo vere
3. Veris leta facies 03:37
4. Omnia sol temperat 02:21
5. Ecce gratum 02:47
I. Uf dem anger
6. Tanz 01:52
7. Floret Silva 03:18
8. Chramer, gip die varwe mir 03:34
9. Reie – Swaz hie gat umbe – Chume, chum, geselle min -… 04:40
10. Were diu werlt alle min 00:54
II. In taberna
11. Estuans interius 02:22
12. Olim lacus colueram 03:19
13. Ego sum abbas 01:32
14. In taberna quando sumus 03:09
III. Cour d’amours
15. Amor volat undique 03:17
16. Dies, nox et omnia 02:23
17. Stetit puella 01:52
18. Circa mea pectora 02:10
19. Si puer cum puellula 00:54
20. Veni, veni, venias 01:00
21. In trutina 02:09
22. Tempus est iocundum 02:19
23. Dulcissime 00:44
III. Blanziflor et Helena
24. Ave formosissima 01:52
Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi
25. O Fortuna (reprise) 03:12

Hans Graf conductor
Sarah Tynan soprano
Andrew Kennedy tenor
Rodion Pogossov baritone
London Philharmonic Orchestra & Choir
Trinity Boys Choir
Neville Creed, Gillian Plummer chorus masters