Buddy Rich – Just in Time: The Final Recording (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Buddy Rich – Just in Time: The Final Recording (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:42:35 minutes | 2,07 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Gearbox Records

A previously unreleased treasure. This is the final ever recording of the legendary, influential drummer, whose impact across rock, funk and soul, as well as jazz, is unrivalled to this day. Recorded over 2 nights, 19th & 20th November 1986, at Ronnie Scott’s in London, England. Includes full liner notes by Buddy’s daughter Cath, who also appears as a guest vocalist on the recording.

“My dad chose set lists for the two nights that I hadn’t heard before. He was always brilliant in choosing the right sets, but this time he shied away from the tried and true and went to places musically that were very different. It was as if he knew that he didn’t have to prove anything anymore and could relax and go wherever he wanted and enjoy it. I think the end result proves just that. For two incredible nights I got to sit in the audience and cheer right along with everyone else. I will always remember that time as one of the greatest moments in my life. Now I can revel in the fact that, thankfully, his last recordings were caught on tape for all of us to enjoy forever. It has taken thirty-three years to finally get these recordings out. An absolute labor of love that I never gave up on. At times it was quite a struggle, but in the end it was all about the music.”

1. Wind Machine (3:22)
2. Night Blood (3:59)
3. Ready Mix (3:28)
4. The Trolley Song (4:20)
5. Winding Way (7:01)
6. Harco Shuffle (6:25)
7. Just in Time (5:21)
8. Loose (3:56)
9. Love for Sale (4:19)
10. Shawnee (3:48)
11. Up Jumped Spring (3:27)
12. Why Bother? (4:40)
13. Porgy and Bess (10:31)
14. Twisted (6:41)
15. Good News, Pt.1 (15:07)
16. Good News, Pt. 2 (16:20)

Buddy Rich: drums; Eric Miyahiro: trumpet; Kevin Richardson: trumpet; Greg Gisbert: trumpet; Dana Watson: trumpet; Rick Trager: trombone; Tom Garling: trombone; Jim Martin: trombone, bass trombone; Bob Bowlby: saxophone; Mike Rubino: saxophone, flute; Steve Marcus: saxophone; Chris Bacas: Jay Craig: saxophone; Matt Harris: piano; Rob Amster: double bass; Cathy Rich: vocals (14).