Blues Image – Blues Image (1969/2012) [AcousticSounds FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Blues Image – Blues Image (1969/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 37:25 minutes | 790 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover | © Rhino Atlantic

Blues Image was an American rock band. “Blues Image” is their self-titled debut album. The album was released in February 1969 and peaked at #112 on the Billboard charts.

A minor hit following its release in early 1969, Blues Image’s debut album is very much cut in the image of the British blues bands that inspired the group in the first place, without ever nodding slavishly toward their examples. Rather, the two drummer lineup, with its penchant for Latin and other esoteric breaks and rhythms, places Blues Image closer to a swampy Santana than Cream or Fleetwood Mac, with solid rockers like “(Do You Have) Something to Say,” “Outside Was Night,” and “Yesterday Could Be Today” also adding a healthy dose of psychedelia to the proceedings. Often overlooked in favor of the band’s hit-packing second album, Blues Image is nevertheless a punchy, and thoroughly enjoyable set, loaded with a musical promise that would explode into day-glo prominence across the course of their sophomore set.


01 – Take Me To The Sunrise
02 – Leaving My Troubles Behind
03 – Outside Was Night
04 – In Front Behind You
05 – Lay Your Sweet Love On Me
06 – (Do You Have) Somethin’ To Say
07 – Lazy Day BLues
08 – Yesterday Could Be Today
09 – Reality Does Not Inspire

Produced by Bill Halverson.

Mike Pinera – guitar; lead vocals (tracks 1, 3-9); backing vocals (track 2)
Skip Konte – piano, organ; backing vocals (track 3)
Malcolm Jones – bass
Manuel Bertematti – drums
Joe Lala – percussion; lead vocals (tracks 1, 2); backing vocals (track 3, 5)