Bertice Reading – Confessin’ That I Love You (Remastered) (2020) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Bertice Reading – Confessin’ That I Love You (Remastered) (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 36:11 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © 2xHD

American-born actress, singer and revue artiste Bertice Reading spent most of her career based in England. Reading was born in Chester, Pennsylvania. Her performing career started at the age of 3, when she was talent-spotted by Bill “Bojangles” Robinson.

Much of her career was formed in musical theatre and Broadway, but she also had a prolific singing career.

Captured here through 2xHD’s renowned high-resolution analog-to-digital mastering process, Confessin’ That I Love You has Reading performances the great standards of the American Songbook during her time in Europe.

Bertice grasps and captivates each member of the audience in this album which was recorded in 1974, in a jazz club with no footlights to lend formality and distance. She was better known in England where she was based for most of her career, than in her native USA although she earned a Tony Award nomination for her Broadway performance in William Faulkner’s Requiem for a Nun and appeared in the movie version of Little Shop of Horror. Adept at a whole range of musical styles, from gospel to blues to musical comedy, in addition to her talent, Reading also had a striking appearance and a renowned sense of humour.

She’s a discovery for us at 2xHD and hopefully you’ll enjoy her as much as we do.

01. I Left My Heart In San Francisco (3:56)
02. Show Boat: Can’t Help Lovin’ That Man (4:18)
03. I’m Confessin’ (That I Love You) (3:56)
04. Don’t Take Your Love from Me (3:58)
05. Strangers in the Night (4:24)
06. I Cried for You (4:41)
07. And the Angels Sing: It Could Happen to You (3:39)
08. How About You: Babes on Broadway: How About You (Live) (3:36)
09. Murder at the Vanities: Cocktails for Two (3:50)

Bertice Reading, vocals
Koos Van Der Sluis, bass
Ted Easton, drums
Chris Smildiger, piano
Sidney Pfeffer, tenor saxophone