Bartlomiej Niziol, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Lukasz Borowicz – Stojowski, Wieniawski: Violin Concertos (2016) [Hyperion FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Stojowski, Wieniawski – Violin Concertos – Bartlomiej Niziol, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Lukasz Borowicz (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 55:54 minutes | 985 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: hyperion-records | Booklet, Front Cover | © Hyperion Records
Recorded: June 2015, City Halls, Candleriggs, Glasgow, Scotland

The music of Zygmunt Stojowski has yet to benefit from the renaissance enjoyed by other Polish composers of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. His violin concerto—enthusiastically received at its premiere—is here revivified alongside Wieniawski’s dazzling Fantaisie in volume 20 of our Romantic Violin Concerto series.

Composed around the turn of the 20th century, Stojowski’s Violin Concerto is beautifully written for the instrument and effectively orchestrated, if lacking in melodic distinction. Bruch, Saint-Saëns, Wieniawski and, as Nigel Simeone points out in his excellent booklet notes, even a pre-echo of Elgar all go into the melting pot. Yet in Bartłomiej Nizioł’s skilled hands it emerges as a thoroughly beguiling work. Nizioł possesses an ideal silvery sound for this late-Romantic work, enhanced by gently cushioned bow-strokes, ear-ringingly true intonation and a fast and narrow vibrato that gives his cantabile playing a captivating eloquence. Nizioł’s fellow Polish compatriot Łukasz Borowicz supports him all of the way and the BBC Scottish Symphony plays beautifully throughout. To finish, we get Wieniawski’s at times fiendishly difficult Faust blockbuster, whose left-and right-hand acrobatics Nizioł negotiates with seemingly nonchalant ease. –Julian Haylock, BBC Music Magazine


Zygmunt Stojowski (1869-1946)
Violin Concerto in G minor Op 22
1 Allegro deciso[13’21]
2 Andante non troppo[7’39]
3 Allegro giocoso[9’26]
4 Romanze in E flat major Op 20[6’40]

Henryk Wieniawski (1835-1880)
5 Fantaisie brillante sur des motifs de l’opéra Faust de Gounod Op 20[18’48]

Bartłomiej Nizioł, violin
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Łukasz Borowicz, conductor