Bartholdy Quintet – Bruckner – Zemlinksy: String Quintets (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Bartholdy Quintet – Bruckner – Zemlinksy: String Quintets (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:09:01 minutes |  713 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front cover | © CAvi-music

Very few permanent ensembles of five string performers can be found on today’s chamber music scene, despite the fact that the string quintet genre features a number of beautiful works by the likes of Mozart, Mendelssohn, Brahms, Tchaikovsky, and Dvořák.

The Bartholdy Quintet (Ulf Schneider and Anke Dill, violins, Volker Jacobsen and Barbara Westphal, violas, and Gustav Rivinius, cello) has been devoting itself to this wonderful sector of classical chamber music ever since it was founded in 2009.

With its début album featuring Alexander von Zemlinsky’s Two Movements for String Quintet and Anton Bruckner’s Quintet in F Major, the ensemble is fulfilling its desire to make relatively rare works in the genre known to a wider audience.


Alexander Zemlinksy (1871 – 1942)
String Quintet in D Minor, o.O.
1 I. Allegro 12:46
2 II. Prestissimo (mit Humor) 05:04

Anton Bruckner (1824 – 1896)
String Quintet in F Major, WAB 112
3 I. Gemässigt 12:19
4 II. Scherzo. Schnell 07:29
5 III. Adagio 13:37
6 IV. Finale. Lebhaft bewegt 08:30