Barb Jungr – Waterloo Sunset (2003) [LINN FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Barb Jungr – Waterloo Sunset (2003)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 0:57:25 minutes | 697 MB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet

Linn Records announces the release of its third Barb Jungr album, Waterloo Sunset. Winner of the New York International Artist of the Year (Backstage Bistro Awards, 2003)

Barb Jungr expresses her passionate artistry with this new collection of classic and original material. With the most original voice since Nina Simone or Edith Piaf, Barb carves a unique path through many genres of popular music. This “world-class female vocalist” (Daily Telegraph) has written three original songs for her new album. ‘Do You Play Guitar’, the album’s elegaic opening track, ‘Written Down In The Dark Again’, a disturbing exploration of sex, and ‘Lipstick Lips Lament’, a wonderful evocation of classic American song-writing.

She spins the naivety of the Everly Brother’s ‘Cathy’s Clown’ into a love story of complex sensuality and manipulative deceit. Leon Russell’s ‘This Masquerade’ resonates with the regret and love affair and Bob Dylan’s ‘Like A Rolling Stone’ is stripped of it’s spleen and transformed into an intense psychoanalytical interrogation. Bridging musical styles Barb makes each song her own, from the jazz inspired ‘When Do The Bells Ring For Me’, through the deep blues of Dylan’s ‘High Water For Charlie Patton’, to the high wire excitement of Richard Thompson’s ‘The Great Valerio’. The title track is a shimmering version of Ray Davies’ ‘Waterloo Sunset’, long a favourite of Barb’s live audience.


01. Do You Play Guitar (4:01)
02. High Water for Charlie Patton (6:05)
03. Cathy’s Clown (3:43)
04. This Masquerade (5:24)
05. The Great Valerio (3:54)
06. When Do The Bells Ring For Me (3:07)
07. Written In The Dark Again (5:33)
08. Like A Rolling Stone (6:09)
09. Lipstick Lips Lament (4:34)
10. Laugh Clown Laugh (3:39)
11. Waterloo Sunset (4:43)
12. The Joker (6:34)