Austin Lucas – Stay Reckless (2013) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Austin Lucas – Stay Reckless (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 39:51 minutes | 470 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © New West Records

Austin Lucas’ release of Stay Reckless marks an important moment for this young troubadour who has amassed fans from Bloomington, IN to Prague. Inspired by X, producer Mark Nevers (Lambchop, Jason Isbell) captures an alt-country album brimming with punk rock energy and heartland earnestness. In 2007 Lucas began to entwine his punk rock nature with his bluegrass upbringing eventually collaborating and touring with Chuck Ragan of Hot Water Music and traveling the country on The Warped Tour, Willie Nelson’s Country Throwdown Tour and The Revival Tour.

The 11-track album is his fifth solo album overall but first for New West. His longtime friends, alt-country rockers Glossary (featuring Joey Knieser on guitars, piano and organ, Eric Giles on drums, Bingham Barnes on bass, Kelly Knieser on backing vocals and Todd Beene of Lucero on pedal steel, guitars and percussion), were recruited after the crew toured together and forged an undeniable chemistry on stage that begged to be captured in the studio. Producer Mark Nevers, best known for his work with Caitlin Rose, Lambchop and Bonnie Prince Billy, was enlisted for his similar background of a punk rock past and a country and rock present, which the two bonded over immediately. The album was co-produced by Lucas and recorded in December 2012 at Nevers’ Beech House studio in Nashville, the city that Lucas currently calls home.

Stay Reckless is just the next step in the exciting evolution of this talented singer and songsmith. The album is a confident statement from a musician that has been at his craft for more than a decade, honing his skills on the road and strengthening his songwriting with each release. Written while in the throes of a divorce, the album is easily his most personal but it’s far from a typical break up record; much of it is about him coming to terms with being single again and doesn’t always paint himself in a positive light.

“On Stay Reckless, Austin takes his natural skills of observation, empathy and poetry (that were so well displayed on his earlier Somebody Loves You album) and kicks them into full gear Rock & Roll with the help of a few friends and one of the best Rock & Roll bands in the U.S. right now: Glossary.

Stay Reckless is more expansive than anything he’s done before without losing any of the passion, wit or insight Austin has always possessed.” (Ben Nichols of Lucero)

1. Let Me In (3:27)
2. Alone In Memphis (3:39)
3. Four Wheels (3:38)
4. Small Town Heart (3:32)
5. Rings (3:54)
6. Save It For Yourself (4:10)
7. Different Shade Of Red (4:12)
8. Stay Reckless (3:12)
9. So Much More Than Lonely (2:21)
10. Gift And A Gamble (3:15)
11. Splinters (4:33)

Austin Lucas, guitar, vocals
Joey Knieser, guitars, piano and organ
Todd Beene, pedal steel, guitars and percussion
Bingham Barnes, bass
Eric Giles, drums
Kelly Knieser, backing vocals

Produced by Mark Nevers