Ash – Islands (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Ash – Islands (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 45:50 minutes | 564 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © Infectious

It’s been a long and successful journey for the alternative rock trio Ash, 22 years to be exact. The Northern Irishmen release their eighth LP, titled Islands, which is their first effort since Kablammo! (2015). Having broken out in 1996 with their punk rock filled debut album 1977, Ash would go on to create some of the soundtracks to the transforming rock music of the 90’s, with hits like Goldfinger and Kung Fu. Notably, the band have also returned to their early years by releasing this record with their original label Infectious Music. As a band, they are not afraid to take risks, as they even experimented with releasing a single every two weeks for a period of two years, an unprecedented move that ultimately didn’t pan out quite as planned. However, there is none of this on their latest LP, with the band returning again to the structured format, giving their listeners some catchy alternative rock numbers that will no doubt delight. Without question, touring with the surf rock kings Weezer has influenced their sound, as “Don’t Need Your Love” has this trademark feel, while “Buzzkill” is one for the OG fans of the 90’s. “Did Your Love Burn Out?” has a soul rock finish that many listeners may not be accustomed to while “Incoming Waves” is powerfully uplifting, with a strong crescendo to a euphoric end to the record, that leaves you with the sentiment that Ash’s future is still very bright. – Aidan Nickerson

1. True Story 03:19
2. Annabel 03:12
3. Buzzkill 02:30
4. Confessions in the Pool 04:23
5. All That I Have Left 03:32
6. Don’t Need Your Love 03:55
7. Somersault 03:05
8. Did Your Love Burn Out? 04:32
9. Silver Suit 04:13
10. It’s a Trap 04:27
11. Is It True? 04:02
12. Incoming Waves 04:37