Art Van Damme – Mit Art Van Damme In San Francisco (1966/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Art Van Damme – Mit Art Van Damme In San Francisco (1966/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 37:13 minutes | 664 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: PrestoClassical | Artwork: Front cover | © MPS

The 1966 With Art Van Damme in San Francisco was the first of some 16 recordings Van Damme would make with Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer’s MPS. As had become his habit at this point in his career when he was on the road, the Chicago-centered Van Damme played with a local rhythm section. In this case, he picked the cream of the San Fran crop, musicians who had worked with the likes of Frank Sinatra, Stan Getz, Nat “King” Cole, and Benny Goodman. And with vibes player John Ray and guitarist Paul Miller joining Van Damme on the front line, Van Damme’s signature sound is intact. There’s a tasty mix of 12 standards and originals, with sizzling up-tempo versions of Old Black Magic and Runnin’ Wild. Van Damme runs virtuoso arpeggios on a beautiful interpretation of the ballad Here’s that Rainy Day, and he smokes a solo on the medium tempo early bop classic Robbin’s Nest. Two Van Damme originals grace the set, the minor key Ode to Cleavage with its mysterioso feel, and the jazzy Playing Around with the Blues. Van Damme plays with combination of virtuosity and economy, saying what he wants to say and not a note more.

01 – Star Spangled Rhythm: That Old Black Magic
02 – Parla Nova
03 – Runnin’ Wild
04 – Here’s That Rainy Day: Carnival in Flanders: Here’s that Rainy Day
05 – Tonga
06 – Robbins Nest
07 – Topsy
08 – Amoureux
09 – Tangerine
10 – Soon It’s Gonna Rain
11 – Ode to Cleavage or the Camel
12 – Playing a Round with the Blues

Produced and Engineered by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer.
Recorded January 1966 at Golden Gate Studio, San Francisco.

Art Van Damme – accordion
John Mosher – bass
John Markham – drums
Paul Miller – guitar
John Rae – vibraphone, timbales