Anna Netrebko – Sempre Libera (2004) SACD ISO

Anna Netrebko – Sempre Libera (2004)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 68:59 minutes | Scans included | 4,05 GB | Genre: Classical

Anna Netrebko’s second disc is even more impressive than her first. She still may not be an absolutely polished, finished artist, but she’s working at it and presents here a very satisfying–-even thrilling–-program. She doesn’t quite have the stature or insights for Verdi’s Violetta yet, but aside from some smudged coloratura in low-lying passages she sings the first act scene quite well (capped with a well-placed, big E-flat). She’s close to ideal in the Sonnambula and Puritani excerpts, where her girlishness is entirely right, her coloratura dazzling, and her ability to sound tearful really impressive. The Lucia Mad Scene (also notable here for its use of the glass harmonica for which it was composed in place of the usual flute) is quite wonderful, even if the runs are sometimes not as well-delineated as they should be. And although she’s not vocally suited to Desdemona’s Willow Song and Ave Maria, she does manage to darken her voice to fit the character and presents a very moving portrait. The disc ends with an utterly charming “O mio babbino caro.” Artistry and everything else aside, her voice is just beautiful. Claudio Abbado’s leadership is ideal.

01 – Verdi: La traviata / Act 1: ‘E strano!’ – ‘Ah, fors’e lui’
02 – Verdi: La traviata / Act 1: Sempre libera
03 – Bellini: La Sonnambula / Act 2: Ah! Se una volta sola
04 – Bellini: La Sonnambula / Act 2: Ah, non credea mirarti
05 – Bellini: La Sonnambula / Act 2: Ah! non giunge uman pensiero
06 – Bellini: I Puritani / Act 2: O rendetemi le speme…Qui la voce
07 – Bellini: I Puritani / Act 2: Ah! tu sorridi
08 – Bellini: I Puritani / Act 2: Vien, diletto, e in ciel la luna
09 – Donizetti: Lucia di Lammermoor / Act 2: ‘O giusto cielo!’ (Act 2)
10 – Donizetti: Lucia di Lammermoor / Act 2: Oihme! Sorge il tremendo
11 – Donizetti: Lucia di Lammermoor / Act 2: ‘Ardon gli incensi…’ (Act 2)
12 – Donizetti: Lucia di Lammermoor / Act 2: ‘Spargi d’amaro pianto’ (Act 2)
13 – Verdi: Otello / Act 4: Era piu calmo?
14 – Verdi: Otello / Act 4: ‘Piangea cantando nell’erma landa…’
15 – Verdi: Otello / Act 4: Ave Maria, piena di grazia
16 – Puccini: Gianni Schicchi: O mio babbino caro



HDTracks FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz