Andrea Falconieri – Il Spiritillo Brando – La Ritirata, Josetxu Obregon (2013) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Andrea Falconieri – Il Spiritillo Brando – La Ritirata, Josetxu Obregon (2013) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:02:22 minutes | 1,06 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Glossa

With Il Spiritillo Brando from La Ritirata comes an opportunity to enjoy exciting performances from a new name on the Spanish early music scene as well as a thrilling ride across the terrain of the Spanish and Italian courtly instrumental traditions as the Renaissance danced its way into the Baroque.

Not since the days when brothers José Miguel and Emilio Moreno made their first recordings for Glossa has any Spanish musician been invited to figure on the label from El Escorial. This is now changing with the arrival of the talents of Josetxu Obregón and his Spanish colleagues from La Ritirata – counting amongst them the best in the younger string, plucked-string, wind and keyboard players from the country – as they bring us the dance rhythm delights of Andrea Falconieri, whose music leads the way into contributions from the likes of Diego Ortiz and Bartolomé de Selma y Salaverde; permitting the individual members of La Ritirata to demonstrate their virtuosic skills and commitment to the music that they perform. This includes Josetxu Obregón himself, who as a cellist, delights in music from late 17th century exponents of the cello in Giuseppe Maria Jacchini, Giovanni Battista Vitali and Domenico Gabrielli.

As the title implies, Il Spiritillo Brando evokes both the social dancing which will have taken place in the court of the Spanish viceroyalty in Naples itself, and the mischievous duendes which roamed the streets, animating all the proceedings in the vicinity!

Diego Ortiz (c.1510-c.1570)
01 Recercadas sobre tenores italianos [tl, es, dz, ip, dm] 4:14
Andrea Falconieri (1585-1656)
02 Corriente dicha la Mota, echa para Don Pedro de la Mota [tl, mz, jo, es, dz, dm] 0:49
03 Ciaccona [tl, mz, jo, es, dz, ip, dm] 1:14
04 La Benedetta [es, dz, dm] 2:03
Giovanni Battista Vitali (1632-1692)
05 Toccata [jo] 0:56
06 Bergamasca per la lettera B [jo, es, dm] 1:43
Dario Castello (c.1590-c.1630)
07 Sonata ii a sopran solo [ro, jo, dz, ip] 4:52
Andrea Falconieri
08 La Suave Melodia [tl, dz] 3:00
09 Passacalle [mz, ro, jo, es, dz, ip, dm] 3:05
10 Alemana dicha Villega [tl, mz, jo, es, dz, dm] 1:28
Giuseppe Maria Jacchini (1667-1727)
11 Sonata VIII per Camera [jo, do, sa] 3:35
Juan Cabanilles (1644-1712)
12 Corrente italiana [ip, dm] 3:39
Diego Ortiz
13 Recercadas sobre la canción “Doulce Memoire” [tl, dz] 4:17
Andrea Falconieri
14 Folias echa para mi Señora Doña Tarolilla de Carallenos [tl, mz, jo, es, dz, ip, dm] 3:56
Bartolomé de Selma y Salaverde (c.1580-c.1640)
15 Fantasia a basso solo [jo, dz] 4:47
Giovanni Gabrieli (1563-1612)
16 Ricercare del vii e viii tono [do, dm] 2:18
Andrea Falconieri
17 Corrente detta L’Auellina [tl, jo, dz, do, dm] 1:27
18 Corriente dicha la Cuella [mz, jo, es, dz, dm] 1:16
19 Il Spiritillo Brando [tl, jo, es, dz, dm] 1:00
20 Brando dicho el Melo [tl, jo, dz, do, dm] 1:13
Anonymous (17th century)
21 Chacona [ip] 2:00
Domenico Gabrielli (1659-1690)
22 Ricercare v [jo] 2:15
Bartolomé de Selma y Salaverde
23 Canzon quinta a tre, Doi Soprani e Basso [tl, mz, jo, es, dz, ip, dm] 3:30
Andrea Falconieri
24 Battaglia de Barabaso yerno de Satanás [tl, mz, ro, jo, es, dz, ip, dm] 3:46

La Ritirata
Tamar Lalo, recorders [tl]Miren Zeberio, Baroque violin [mz]Raúl Orellana, Baroque violin [ro]Enrike Solinís, Baroque guitar & archlute [es]Daniel Zapico, theorbo [dz]Ignacio Prego, harpsichord [ip]Daniel Oyarzábal, chest organ [do]Sara Águeda, triple harp [sa]David Mayoral, percussion [dm]Josetxu Obregón, Baroque cello & direction [jo]